Minnesota Book Awards

(From their website)
The winners of the 23rd Annual Minnesota Book Awards were announced at the annual gala held on April 16, 2011. In addition to winners in the eight categories, nearly 2,000 voters from across Minnesota selected the Reader’s Choice Award. The winners are:

Award for Children’s Literature   Michael Hall – My Heart is Like a Zoo
Award for General Nonfiction   Michael Nordskog and Aaron W. Hautala, photography – The Opposite of Cold: The Northwoods Finnish Sauna Tradition

Award for Genre Fiction   Wendy Webb – The Tale of Halcyon Crane

Award for Memoir & Creative Nonfiction  Bonnie J. Rough – Carrier: Untangling the Danger in My DNA

Award for Minnesota  Mary Lethert Wingerd – North Country: The Making of Minnesota

Award for Novel & Short Story  John Reimringer – Vestments

Award for Poetry   Lightsey Darst – Find the Girl

Award for Young People’s Literature  Pete Hautman – Blank Confession

The Reader’s Choice Award Laurie Hertzel – News to Me: Adventures of an Accidental Journalist

Books written by a Minnesotan and first published in 2010 were eligible for the 23rd annual Minnesota Book Awards. 293 books were nominated for awards this year, and 32 books were selected as finalists. The winners were chosen by panels of judges from the list of finalists. Nominations for next year’s Awards will open in early fall, 2011. Click here to see the all the past Minnesota Book Award finalists and winners by year.

RBC Wealth Management presents the Minnesota Book Awards a project of The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library, in consortium with the Saint Paul Public Library and the City of Saint Paul. Outreach partners and supporting organizations include:3M Company; Anchor Trust; Beaver’s Pond Press; Books For Africa; Capstone; Coffee House Press; Common Good Books; Lerner Publishing; The Loft Literary Center; MELSA; Milkweed Editions; Minnesota AFL-CIO; Minnesota Center for Book Arts; Minnesota Crime Wave; Minnesota Educational Media Organization; Minnesota Library Foundation; Minnesota Licensed Beverage Association; Red Balloon Bookshop; Saint Paul Almanac; Wellington Management, Inc.; Xcel Energy. Media sponsors include Minnesota Public Radio (MPR); Pioneer Press and TwinCities.com; Saint Paul Neighborhood Network (SPNN); Swank Audio Visuals; Twin Cities Public Television (TPT) Minnesota Channel. Generous support has been provided by The Boss Foundation; Harlan Boss Foundation for the Arts, Huss Foundation, The Katherine B. Andersen Fund of The Saint Paul Foundation; City of Saint Paul – Cultural STAR Program; Minnesota Department of Education—State Library Services.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s