Book Review – The Last Time I Was Me

The Last Time I was Me
A Review by Catherine H. Armstrong

What can you say about a woman with an anger problem? An anger problem brought on by the deaths of her husband and unborn child and, subsequently, by her beloved mother? Follow that anger problem with a cheating live-in boyfriend (upon whom she extracts sweet revenge) and you have a seriously unhinged woman. Take that seriously unhinged woman and put her in an anger-management course (court directed, no less), throw in some quirky characters and an anger-management counselor with her own obvious anger issues, and you have a great story. But why stop there? While you’re at, throw in a dead body, a germ-phobic Bed and Breakfast owner, an opera-singing, pancake-flipping diner owner, and NOW you have a great read!

There was just so much going on in this book that it’s hard to even explain what it was all about. Suffice it to say that Cathy Lamb has taken a tragic character that most authors would leave tragic, and made her into someone you wish you knew. Someone who lacks that filter we all have that warns us that, “Hey – maybe you shouldn’t say that, even if it is true!” A character whose honesty and plain talk make her not just enjoyable, but downright lovable.

To say that I loved this book is a complete understatement.  I laughed and I cried, and sometimes I laughed while I cried.  As I turned the last pages, I was sorry to see the story end; and, in the end, I simply couldn’t stop thinking about the characters.    What happened next?  What will tomorrow bring?  I simply wanted more.  It’s been a while since I’ve read this book, and I still want more.

The Last Time I was Me is available at the Rochester Public Library.  For more information about this book, or other great reads by Cathy Lamb, visit the author’s website at www.cathylamb.net.

Leave a Reply

