Book Review – The Duchess of Love

The Duchess of Love
A Review by Catherine H. Armstrong

I admit it.  I’m a sucker for a good romance novel.  I don’t read too many of them these days because, to be honest, over the years it began to feel like I was reading the same story over and over again, with just the character names swapped out.  And that’s probably part of the reason so many people enjoy a good romance novel:  you know what to expect.  Boy meets girl, boy and girl fall in love, boy and girl have conflict, boy and girl make up, and finally boy and girl get married and live happily ever after.  Simple and sweet and – in the right frame of mind – perfect.

I must’ve been in the right frame of mind this week because I picked up a Romance novella entitled The Duchess of Love, and absolutely adored it!  It had all the wonderful elements of a great romance novel, with only about 100 pages.  And I zoomed right through it in about two hours.  It was the perfect poolside read!

The Duchess of Love is the prequel to a series by the same title and written by  Sally MacKenzie.  It tells the story of Venus Collingswood as she  attempts to matchmake her beautiful older sister, Aphrodite, to a young Duke of Greycliffe.  The entire story is one of mistaken identities, misunderstandings, and the blush of first love.  It was simple and sweet, and the characters were completely likeable.  And, as I turned the last page, I did so with a great deal of regret as I hated saying goodbye to the characters.  But, as I mentioned earlier, I’m in luck:  The Duchess of Love is a prequel to a series of books by the same author and (presumably) featuring some of the same characters.

This book is available online through the Rochester Public Library’s e-book collection for e-readers.

Leave a Reply

