Book Review – When

A Review by Catherine H. Armstrong

One of my favorite things as a reader is an author who is versatile.  There’s nothing more fun than having a favorite author and then discovering that the author not only writes things that you enjoy as an adult, but books that can be enjoyed by your children as well.  Such is the case with Victoria Laurie.

Laurie is the prolific author of the Psychic Eye series starring Abbie Cooper, and the Ghost Hunter series starring M.J. Holliday, both of which are adult mystery/thrillers that I’ve enjoyed reading over the years.  A few years ago, I was thrilled to notice that Laurie had published a trilogy of juvenile fiction books –  The Oracles of Delphi Keep – that would appeal to young readers like my 10 year old son and his cousin.  It was so much fun to be able to share an author I enjoyed so much with the little ones in my life, and now the only thing that was lacking was a YA novel that would appeal to my 18 year old daughter.

20338342Well, Laurie is back again with her newest novel, When, set to be released in early 2015, and this time she’s set her sights on yet another generation of readers:  The YA readers.  To my complete delight, Laurie has outdone herself and may well have released her best novel to date.  I simply cannot wait to share this book with my daughter and all of her friends!

When tells the story of a young woman with the ability to see the death date of any person, alive or deceased.  This unique talent brings more misery than joy, and she becomes somewhat of an outcast at her school as those who know of her talent think she’s either lying or a freak.

To help make ends meet and to support her mother’s alcohol habit, Maddie Fynn charges clients to read their death dates. Life moves along smoothly for Maddie until she predicts the death date the following week of a client’s son, and the client sees the prediction as a threat more than a warning of what’s to come.  When Maddie’s ominous warnings are ignored and the teenage boy is found brutally murdered, Maddie and her friend Arnold suddenly find themselves the focus of an FBI murder investigation.

This book far surpassed my expectations.  It was fast-paced and nothing short of fabulous.  More than a few times, I found myself holding my breath in anticipation of what would happen next, and hoping against hope that Maddie and Arnold would be vindicated.

Maybe the best part of this book was with the “big reveal” – that moment when the real bad guy of the story is revealed to the reader.  Many times this “big reveal” is nothing more than a copout and makes no sense.  Not so with When.  As the story unfolds, the reader starts to suspect several different characters; but the one character that crossed my mind as a possibility was quickly and completely discarded.  Imagine my surprise when I realized who the culprit was AND his reasonings made complete sense!  No copout there!  Laurie had created the perfect villain, and not only was it unexpected, but his motives were reasonable and made perfect sense!  Score one for Victoria Laurie!

I heard recently that this book has already been optioned for a television series, and I’m thrilled to hear this!  I can completely see Maddie Fynn as the heroine of a long-running television series that would appeal to both teen and adult audiences alike.

Leave a Reply

