Book Gifts

Looking for recommended reads? This is the time of year I am supposed to pare down my reading list and chose the favourites out of what I read. Which sounds like it would be easy.
Some years I start with a blank slate and write the first ten books that came to mind.
Other times I try to single out one book per category. Most of the time I can get to the top 20 fairly painlessly, but there are still books I SO want to recommend. I also go through the lists that have been compiled by the New Yorker or the New York Times or the prizes, see what I have missed. Often I think I am not well read at all. 10 of their hundred? And yet, there are well over 300 books I enjoyed last year. There has to be time for travel, gardening, sleeping, etc, doesn’t there?

There’s still time to get a few of these for someone’s Christmas present! I dare say there are even a few in the Friends Bookstore!
What are my best books of 2014?
My 25 personal favourites in fiction and non fiction.

Books 2014
Literature
*Bruce Holsinger A Burnable Book
*Hilary Mantel The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher
Patrick Modiano Missing Person
*Gabrielle Zevin Storied Life of AJ Fikry
Mystery
*Alan Bradley As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust
**John Connolly A Wolf in Winter
*Diana Gabaldon Written in my own Hearts Blood
*Martha Grimes The Way of all Fish (Sequel to Foul Matter)
Laurie King and Leslie Klinger In the Company of Sherlock Holmes
**Ian Rankin Saints of the Shadow Bible
*Charles Todd Unwilling Accomplice (Bess Crawford)
Nicola Upson Death of Lucy Kyte
Jacqueline Winspear Care And Management of lies
Romance
Susanna Kearsley Splendor Falls, A Season of Storms
Deanna Raybourn Whisper of Jasmine
Children’s /YA
Gregory McGuire Egg and Spoon
William Ritter Jackaby (para Sherlock)
**Maria Semple Where’d You Go Bernadette
Science fiction
***Deborah Harkness – The Book of Life (Discovery of Witches3rd)
*Douglas Nicholas Something Red, The Wicked
Patrick Rothfuss The Slow Regard of Silent Things
2014 nonfiction
**Elizabeth Kolbert The Sixth Extinction, an unnatural history
*Terry Pratchett A Slip of the Keyboard
*Hampton Sides In The Kingdom of Ice

Obviously the more Stars the more I loved it.

Leave a Reply

