It’s Cool to Read!

Summer  time and the reading is easy…

At any one time I have a dozen library books checked out. A stack of bookstore purchased TBR. Numerous ebooks are just waiting for a flight or extended travel. Some of today’s list I have reviewed before, as Laurie King’s Mary Russell series, but reading a book in hardcover has such appeal to me. It was great, however, to have the ebook well ahead of publication! I was so pleased when a house guest recently discovered this series in my shelves and is now devouring them. Binge reading at its best. 

I love a good mystery, and many of my favourite authors have extended series. Three recent books are interesting page turners which keep you guessing. I caution you to read these in order, so if you don’t know these great authors, you’re in for a treat (and a lot of summer reading!): Charles Todd, Elly Griffith and Amanda Quick all write historical fiction, period suspense that never fail to charm me. Nothing too heavy for he hammock, but well researched, interesting characters and wonderful sense of place be it the Norfolk broads, Victorian England or post WWI England. 
A read surprise for me was Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye. (I am now finding her earlier novels, Dust and Shadow, Gods of Gotham.). Each chapter of Jane Steele opens with a quote from Jane Eyre, which just might make you rethink Charlotte Brontes gothic tale. This Jane is fun, and finds a hidden knife quite useful in Victorian society. Perfect beach read.

There are also series that have made the move to television. The next Walt Longmire mystery The Highwayman is also now in bookstores, just as I’m catching up with Longmire on Netflix. And while I am addicted to the program, I love the these books more. I thought his last, Any Other Name was the best yet. Really. Normally I would say that with the character development and overlapping cases, you should read them in order. But this is a novella, classic Longmire, and something of a ghost story. It could be inserted almost anywhere in the series. There is a warmth, a sense of humanity and a wonderful sense of place (Wind River Canyon) perfect for the armchair traveler. Walt is the stuff of Wyoming legend and Johnson doesn’t disappoint. I can’t wait for the next book (Sept) An Obvious Fact.

And then there is the nonfiction account of The Badass Librarians of Timbuktu! I confess after the first two chapters I had to read the ending to make sure he (Haidara) was alive. That the books and manuscripts had survived. That I wouldn’t hyperventilate anymore. I was intrigued by the Arabic manuscripts themselves, and every introduction of what he saved from Al Qaeda was astonishing. It is a truly aspiring but short account.

Leave a Reply

